REQUIRED: Graduated Driver License (GDL) Parent Material

Distribute materials that promote the Graduated Driver Licensing program to parents.  

Did you know?

Nearly 52% of Delaware County parents surveyed are unfamiliar with Ohio’s GDL Law.

A teen driver's risk of death doubles when carrying two teen passengers and quadruples when carrying 3 or more teen passengers.

 

GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING LAW / OHIO REVISED CODE 4507.071

Protections for probationary license holders (withing the first 12 months of licensing)

May NOT drive between the hours of midnight and 6am, unless:

  • Accompanied by a parent or guardian.
  • Driving to or from work if in possession of official documentation from the employer (see BMV 2825).
  • Driving to or from an official school sponsored event if in possession of written documentation from a school official (see BMV 2825).
  • Driving to or from an official religious event if in possession of written documentation from an official affiliated with the event (see BMV2825).

May NOT drive with more than one nonfamily member as a passenger, unless the probationary licensed driver is accompanied by their parent or guardian.

  • Studies conducted by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety have shown that one passenger doubles the risk of a crash.
  • Two passengers triple the risk, and three or more passengers can increase the risk of crash six times.
  • All passenger(s) and driver shall wear safety belts.
  • NO USE of mobile communication devices.
  • Shall NOT be under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

 

PROTECTIONS FOR PROBATIONARY LICENSE HOLDERS (after 12 months of licensing and under the age of 18)

May NOT drive between the hours of 1am and 5am, unless:

  • Accompanied by a parent or guardian.
  • Driving to or from work if in possession of official documentation from the employer (see BMV 2825).
  • Driving to or from an official school sponsored event if in possession of written documentation from a school official (see BMV 2825).
  • Driving to or from an official religious event if in possession of written documentation from an official affiliated with the event (see BMV 2825).

CANNOT have more passengers than safety belts.

All passengers and driver shall wear safety belts.

NO USE of mobile communication devices.

Shall NOT be under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

 

Submission Instructions: 

To Get Your Points:

1. Distribute the GDL material with your school's parking permit and/or application OR email the material directly to parents.

2. Take a photo of the materials being distributed that demonstrates the parents' receipt of the information.

3. Click "Submit Your Points."

4. Enter the name of the submitter, and select the activity completed, the county, and school.

5. Upload your school's photo and a brief description of the activity (including the date of completion and any people pictured in the photo).

 

*Schools that have already submitted points in previous years for this activity must take new photos with the banner and submit these pictures to earn points again this year.

**Note - Points for all award levels will be counted instantaneously, but the Silver/Gold Award will not be granted until a participating school has earned the Bronze Award!